top of page
Search

My Ancestry Story



Hello, my name is Olivia Karp, and I just graduated from an undergraduate degree in Political Science. I am off to do my master's degree in International Relations, focusing on Global Migration. I have a mixed background. My Mom’s side is Polish, Ukrainian and Spanish, while my Dad’s side is Russian and German. Much of my family had to flee from their countries due to them being Jewish and not living in a time where their religion was welcomed by their home country.


I am happy for the different culture’s I come from. I feel if I was not from a mixed background it would have made me trapped inside a bubble with no recollection of what is happening in the world. I am happy today to have all of these fantastic life opportunities at my fingertips due to the sacrifices my ancestors made. They did this to ensure that generations who came after them had a better chance at life.


I’m 4th generation in my family coming from a long line of family members who gave up so much and came to Canada with so little. I know some of the story on my Mom's grandfather's side and how my great-great grandfather had to feel Poland, due to the effects of WWII and the attacks from the Russians. It was not sustainable for my great-great grandfather, so he had to flee his country due to his religion. He came to Montreal with a mission to assist other Polish people fleeing war. My great-great grandfather did this by building up the Polish community in Montreal to make it a safe place for other Polish people. From there, he met my great-great grandmother and then had a family. If my great-great grandfather did not escape his country in search of a better life I would not be here today.


The background I have and the stories I share of my ancestors coming to Canada as refugees are something I sympathize with. Even though I have never had to experience what they went through, refugee issues are something that I am passionate about and will continue to do work in the future. I have worked with people who have come to Canada in the past helping with settlement, connecting with resources, learning English, employment opportunities, peer support, and much more. Through all of these experiences I have met so many amazing people from different walks of life. That is why I love this type of work. You learn so much, from good laughter to heartfelt tears.


Now that you know more about my story and why I am here today. Please continue to educate yourself on the issues refugees face. Even consider doing work in your host country or abroad to give back. Every little can make a difference either big or small.



161 views0 comments
bottom of page